Announcing the list of finalists for the Wales Book of the Year 2022 in the Welsh language

//= do_shortcode(‘[in-content-square]’) ?>
Welsh Language Book of the Year 2022 shortlist

Literature Wales has revealed the names of the books that have been shortlisted for this year’s Welsh-language Wales Book of the Year award.

The four shortlists – poetry, fiction, creative factual and children and young people – were announced on Radio Cymru’s Studio program tonight.

The winning titles will be announced on Radio Cymru from July 19 to 21.

The shortlist of English prizes will be announced on The performance of the arts on BBC Radio Wales on Friday 1 July.

The [email protected] Fiction Award

Mori – Ffion Dafis (Y Lolfa)

Hela – Aled Hughes (Y Lolfa)

Hannah-Jane – Lleucu Roberts (Y Lolfa)

The Welsh Poetry Prize

Cawod Lwch – Rhys Iorwerth (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)

Merch y Llyn – Grug Muse (Cyhoeddiadau’r Stamp)

Stafelloedd Amhenodol–Iestyn Tyne (Cyhoeddiadau’r stamp)

The Welsh factual price

Dod ‘Nôl to fy Nghoed – Carys Eleri (Y Lolfa)

Paid at Bod Ofn – Non Parry (Y Lolfa)

Eigra: Hogan Fach o’r Blaenau – Eigra Lewis Roberts (Gwasg and Bwthyn)

The Welsh Children’s and Young People’s Prize

Pam? – Luned Aaron and Huw Aaron (Y Lolfa)

Gwag y Nos – Sioned Wyn Roberts (Atebol)

Y Pump – various authors (Y Lolfa)

“Celebrating Literature”

The shortlist was selected by broadcaster Mirain Iwerydd, presenter and columnist Melanie Owen, academic, editor and author Siwan Rosser, and director, poet and author Gwion Hallam.

On behalf of the jury, Melanie Owen said it was “a great privilege to be a member of the jury”.

“I love to read and write, so enjoying the work of some of Wales’ best writers was a dream,” he said.

“It’s very true to say that the roundtables were lively and passionate – which was no wonder with so much talent on the table before us.

“The quality of all the books made it difficult to choose, but what a wonderful opportunity to celebrate Welsh literature. ”

“Show your appreciation”

“Alongside the main literary ceremonies of our Eisteddfodau and Hay Festival, the Book of the Year award is a highlight of the Welsh calendar for readers and lovers alike,” said Leusa Llewelyn, acting co-chief executive of Literature Wales.

“It’s a busy time on social media for discussing our favorite books, guessing who’s on the list, celebrating successes and sometimes complaining that our favorites haven’t made it to the list!

“Most importantly, this is an opportunity for us to show our appreciation to our talented writers – to thank them for entertaining us and creating an escape for us between the covers of their books.

“It is truer than ever after two difficult years, and for that our thanks are greater than ever.”

A total of £14,000 will be shared between the winners, and each winner will receive a trophy designed by artist and blacksmith Angharad Pearce Jones.

Readers will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite book in the Golwg360 People’s Choice Award.

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee one month, you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit national information service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Source link


Comments are closed.