Winning Writers Announces Winners of Seventh Annual North Street Book Prize for Self-Published Books


NORTHAMPTON, Massachusetts., February 15, 2022 /PRNewswire/ — Winning Writers is pleased to announce the results of its seventh annual North Street Book Prize for self-published books. Over 2,000 entries were received from around the world.

C. Vargas McPherson of Portland, OR won this year’s Grand Prix in all genres for his memoir Heritage of our names: a true imaginary memory of spain Oblivion Pact. This lyrical tale with magico-realistic elements reconstructs the life of his grandparents as a young left-wing working-class couple in Seville during the fascist seizure of power by General Franco. Vargas McPherson received $5,000a marketing analysis and a one-hour telephone consultation with Carolyn Howard Johnsona $300 credit at BookBaby, and 3 free ads in the Winning Writers newsletter (a $525 value).

  • Nicole Kohr of New Bern, North Carolina won the first children’s picture book award for My trousersa funny and touching story about a little autistic girl with a special interest in fashion.
  • Ryan Poirier of Bowmanville, ON won first prize for graphic novel and memoir for The herda superhero parody set in a town of humanoid animals where an accident at the juice factory has given our not-too-brilliant protagonists special powers.
  • John Regan of Geneva, New York won first prize in art book for #porchportraitsa sensitive photo essay about families in his hometown during the early months of the COVID lockdown and the 2020 Black Lives Matter protests.
  • Leslie Susan of SilverSpring, Maryland won first prize for creative non-fiction and memoirs for Choosing Life: My Father’s Journey to the Movies Hollywood at Hiroshima. Sussan’s memoirs chronicle the end by Herbert Susan harrowing experiences as a Department of Defense cinematographer filming the aftermath of the atomic bomb, and his daughter’s pilgrimage to Hiroshima in 1987-88 to complete the talk he was never allowed to share.
  • Delores Lowe Friedman of Bayside, New York and Ian Strasfogel of New York, New York each received a first prize in mainstream/literary fiction. Friedman’s Multi-Leveled Intimate Novel Wild flowers follows a decades-long friendship between three black women in New York City. Strasfogel’s novel Operaland is a comedic adventure about a middle-aged Midwestern car salesman who becomes a world-class Wagnerian tenor.
  • Tim Stickel of Mercer Island, Washington won the first prize for genre fiction for Special district: Harbina historical mystery that follows a young half-Korean, half-Russian policeman in 1929 China as he investigates his first major homicide case.
  • Thomas Sheehan of Saugus, Mass. won first prize for poetry The Book of Saugusa mature collection of narrative poetry about the Korean War and working-class life in the Northeast.

The category winners each received $1,000a marketing analysis and a one-hour telephone consultation with Carolyn Howard Johnsona $300 credit at BookBaby, and a free advertisement in the Winning Writers newsletter (a $175 value).

Seven honorable mentions from $250 everyone went to randi hacker, Kendra and Claire Voe Ocampo, Deborah A. Renard, Maya Stein, Asome Bide, mac leonardand Mark Osaki. $14,750 were awarded in all, making it one of the most generous competitions in the world for self-published books.

Final judges Jendi Reiter and Ellen La Fleche were helped by Annie Mydla, Sarah Haller, and Laurent Singer. Judges’ remarks and excerpts from winning entries are posted on

The eighth annual contest is open now until June 30, 2022. Authors can submit online or by mail. One Grand Prize winner in all categories will receive $8,000 as well as marketing support. The first prize winner in each category will receive $1,000. Honorable mentions will receive $250 each. The entrance fee is $70 per pound. This year’s categories are Mainstream/Literary Fiction, Genre Fiction, Creative Nonfiction & Memoir, Poetry, Children’s Picture Book, Graphic Novel & Memoir, and art book. All entrants receive free gifts from the contest’s many co-sponsors.

Founded in 2001, Winning Writers is a partner member of the Alliance of Independent Authors. In addition to the North Street Book Prize, Winning Writers also sponsors the Tom Howard/John H. Reid Fiction & Essay Contest, the Tom Howard/Margaret Reid Poetry Contest and the Wergle Flomp Humor Poetry Contest. All of these contests are recommended by Reedsy.

Adam Cohen
[email protected]

SOURCE Winning Writers


Comments are closed.